What is the Grimdark Butterfly Effect?

Greetings Adventurers!  Welcome to what will hopefully be a fun journey into the hobby mind of myself.  But, I want this blog to be more about the journey and the goals more then it is about me.

But, to start off, I will tell you a bit about myself before we get into why you are all here.  I am 36 years old, a husband and father of two kids with a dog and cat.  In that aspect, I (in an unexplained way to me at least) the luckiest man alive.  I have a wife who loves and supports my crazy ass tangents, two kids whom are learning the ways to nerdom and geekery, along with a snorty sidekick pug and cat who occasionally likes me.  I spent the better part of my professional life as a geek working the gaming industry, mostly focused on toy soldiers, model kits or man dollies.  I got into the gaming life, with models and role playing games from a very early age.  But, that is enough about me for now….

So, what is this place and moreover, which I am guessing why you are reading, is what does the phrase “Grimdark Butterfly Effect” mean.  We shall start with a look at what the Butterfly Effect is.  I was in 7th grade the first time i herd the phrase, Butterfly Effect.  I was in a bible class, and in a rudimentary way, our teacher explained the bases of the theory, as he learned it from his time as a science teacher.  The dictionary’s definition of the Butterfly Effect is, “The branch of mathematics that deals with complex systems whose behavior is highly sensitive to slight changes in conditions, so that small alterations can give rise to strikingly great consequences.”  At the time, the lesson was for us to do small things, that will lead to the greatest changes.  It struck a cord inside my growing head and stuck there for a long while.

What does the word Grimdark mean?  For most people reading this, they will already know.  Grimdark is a tagline to a game, the game that laid a path out that I followed.  My greatest and closest friends came from my time working for the company that made the game or people I played with.  Like its name would suggest, it is a dark and depressing world with little hope or light.  Heroes fight against insurmountable odds while unspeakable horrors move against humanity!  I was hooked from day 1.  Most importantly, when you put the phrase all together, you get my passion and my life.  What started out as a game, became a passion, that became a job that became a carrier that ended up filling my life with some of the best things.

With all of that out of the way, let me tell you what you will be seeing here.  This blog, will be my way of helping me keep myself on track with my goals for the hobby this year.  I have hobby ADHD or Hobby Butterfly Effect as I tend to jump around a lot.  I can help a friend with ideas for a list and now I want to change armies or worse, add another to my ‘To Do” pile.  In my first post, I will lay out what my goals are this year and how I will track them.  Then, at least once a week I will do an update of what I have been working on, games I have played and things along those lines.

Thank you for reading, please let me know if you have any questions and most of all, enjoy the ride!

Cheers,

Jordan

Leave a comment